Anthropic Funding Rounds and S-1 Investors
Full research prompt
Identify the venture and growth investors named in the S-1 or disclosed through each funding round (Series A through the latest), such as Spark, Menlo, ICONIQ, Lightspeed, Fidelity, GIC, and others. Build a table of round, date, lead investors, and publicly reported valuation. Match these to table entries and flag investors that appear in the press but are not 5% holders, so are not individually listed.
From Who Owns Anthropic? Shareholders, Stakes and Control in the 2026 S-1
Anthropic’s S-1, filed October 26, 2026, names almost no pure venture firms as large holders. The mechanism is deliberate dilution plus non-voting strategic stock: no traditional VC is reported above about 2%, so SEC’s 5% beneficial-ownership table never lists Menlo, Lightspeed, ICONIQ, Fidelity, or GIC individually. Spark appears dozens of times only because partner Yasmin Razavi sits on the board after leading Series C—not because Spark crossed 5%. Amazon and Google are the outside names the filing treats as greater-than-5% economic owners, and both hold non-voting Class N.
How the S-1 treats investors
Item 403 requires a principal-stockholders table for directors, officers, and anyone known to beneficially own more than 5% of a class of voting securities. Anthropic’s table is built around the seven co-founders (each with on the order of 230–245 million Class A shares), the Long-Term Benefit Trust’s Class T share, and the Founder LLC’s single Class F share that carries a fixed 50.1% of the vote. Spark is footnoted because Razavi is a director: the filing says she disclaims beneficial ownership of Spark entities, and it excludes Spark affiliates from her personal line. Business Insider reports the filing states Spark invested $777 million across six financings since 2023, including $75 million in the first round at $11.22 per share, and that Spark is the only traditional VC firm named.
After preferred stock and notes convert, Amazon and Google will each hold more than 5% of outstanding capital stock, in non-voting Class N. Amazon’s stake is capped at 12% (waivable); Google’s latest financing caps its stake at 14.99% (also waivable). Neither has a board seat or observer right. That is why the cloud partners show up in related-party and capitalization disclosure, while the growth funds that led the lettered rounds do not.
Newcomer, citing investor documents and people familiar with the rounds, reported on October 22, 2026 that no venture firm owns more than 2%. Bloomberg-sourced figures at the May 2026 $965 billion mark put ICONIQ near $17 billion after more than $6 billion invested, Menlo near $14 billion after more than $1 billion, GIC and Sequoia each around 1%, and Lightspeed under 2%. Those stakes are large in dollars and invisible as named 5% holders.
Round table (Series A through Series H)
Company announcements are the primary source for amount, date, and lead. Post-money valuation is company-disclosed from Series E onward. Earlier marks were not in the press releases; secondary databases and contemporaneous reporting disagree, and that disagreement is shown rather than smoothed.
| Round | Date | Amount | Lead / co-leads | Publicly reported valuation | Named participants (selected) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Series A | May 28, 2021 | $124 million | Jaan Tallinn | Not disclosed by the company. Secondary marks cluster around $550–623 million post-money (StockAnalysis $550M; Forge/Yahoo $623 million). One later analysis cites ~$845 million. | James McClave, Dustin Moskovitz, Center for Emerging Risk Research, Eric Schmidt |
| Series B | April 29, 2022 | $580 million | Sam Bankman-Fried (FTX) | Not disclosed by the company. Later databases put it near $4.0–4.1 billion. Court records cited by Business Insider put Bankman-Fried’s ~$500 million at 13.56% at the time. | Caroline Ellison, Nishad Singh, Jim McClave, Jaan Tallinn, Center for Emerging Risk Research |
| Series C | May 23, 2023 | $450 million | Spark Capital | Company did not disclose. Business Insider, citing the context of the filing, uses $4.5 billion. Reuters sources at the time said nearly $5 billion. Newcomer: about $4.6 billion before the new money. Yahoo/Forge series data: $4.55 billion post at $11.23/share. | Google, Salesforce Ventures, Sound Ventures, Zoom Ventures, Menlo Ventures (small check, ~$10 million per Newcomer), Factorial Funds |
| Series D | In market Dec 2023; closed early 2024 (press through Jan–March 2024) | $750 million | Menlo Ventures (Matt Murphy); more than $500 million via an SPV | Widely associated with $18.4 billion. Reuters on Dec 21, 2023 described $18.4 billion as the valuation before the round. Later Menlo and press accounts treat $18.4 billion as the round valuation (a roughly 4x step-up from Series C). | Lightspeed (~$100 million, per Newcomer), Bessemer introductions; Amazon and Google convertible commitments were being formalized around the same period and are not the equity lead |
| Series E | March 3, 2025 | $3.5 billion | Lightspeed Venture Partners (~$1 billion, partly with top LP co-invest) | $61.5 billion post-money (company) | Bessemer, Cisco Investments, D1 Capital Partners, Fidelity Management & Research, General Catalyst, Jane Street, Menlo Ventures, Salesforce Ventures |
| Series F | September 2, 2025 | $13 billion | ICONIQ; co-led by Fidelity Management & Research and Lightspeed | $183 billion post-money (company) | Altimeter, Baillie Gifford, BlackRock affiliates, Blackstone, Coatue, D1, General Atlantic, General Catalyst, GIC, Goldman Sachs Alternatives, Insight Partners, Jane Street, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, Qatar Investment Authority, TPG, T. Rowe Price, WCM, XN |
| Series G | February 12, 2026 | $30 billion | GIC and Coatue; co-led by D.E. Shaw Ventures, Dragoneer, Founders Fund, ICONIQ, and MGX | $380 billion post-money (company) | Accel, Addition, Altimeter, Baillie Gifford, Bessemer, BlackRock, Blackstone, D1, Fidelity, General Catalyst, Greenoaks, Goldman Sachs Alternatives, Insight, Jane Street, JPMorganChase, Lightspeed, Menlo, Morgan Stanley Investment Management, QIA, Sands Capital, Sequoia, Temasek, TPG, XN; a portion of previously announced Microsoft and Nvidia commitments |
| Series H | May 28, 2026 | $65 billion | Altimeter, Dragoneer, Greenoaks, and Sequoia; co-led by Capital Group, Coatue, D1, GIC, ICONIQ, and XN | $965 billion post-money (company) | Includes $15 billion of previously committed hyperscaler money, of which $5 billion from Amazon. Also AMP PBC, Baillie Gifford, Blackstone, Brookfield, D.E. Shaw, DST, Fidelity, General Catalyst, Insight, Jane Street, Lightspeed, MGX, Temasek, T. Rowe Price, and others |
Strategic checks sit beside the lettered rounds and dominate the economic cap table: Amazon’s cumulative cash in is reported in the teens of billions with a 12% cap and $6.2 billion of notes still outstanding as of mid-2026; Google’s cumulative investment is reported around the low-to-mid twenties of billions with a 14.99% cap and an option, disclosed in the S-1, to buy up to $10 billion of Class N at the IPO price. Those are not “Series” leads, but they are why Amazon and Google clear 5% and the VCs do not.
Press names that are not 5% holders
Flag these as disclosed in round announcements or later stake reporting, and not individually listed as greater-than-5% voting holders in the S-1 principal-stockholders table:
- Named in the filing, but not as a 5% holder: Spark Capital. Presence is a related-person/director fact (Razavi). Cumulative investment of $777 million is well below 5% after dilution.
- Round leads or co-leads that stay under the line: Menlo Ventures (Series D lead; press stake under 2%, marked near $14 billion at $965 billion), Lightspeed (Series E lead and Series F co-lead; under 2%), ICONIQ (Series F lead; first check in 2025 at the $183 billion round; press mark near $17 billion after more than $6 billion in), Fidelity Management & Research (Series F co-lead; also in E, G, H), GIC (Series G lead; about 1% after more than $4.5 billion, per Bloomberg-sourced reporting).
- Later co-leads also under 5%: Sequoia (Series H co-lead; about 1% after roughly $3 billion, starting in 2026), Coatue (Series G co-lead and later follow-on; one person put total investment near $4.75 billion), Altimeter, Dragoneer, Greenoaks, D1 Capital, Capital Group, Founders Fund, MGX, XN.
- Early or repeat participants that never approached 5% as firms: Sound Ventures, Salesforce Ventures, Zoom Ventures, Bessemer, Jane Street, General Catalyst, Insight Partners, Blackstone, BlackRock, T. Rowe Price, Baillie Gifford, General Atlantic, Goldman Sachs Alternatives, Ontario Teachers’, QIA, Temasek.
- Angels and the FTX complex: Jaan Tallinn, Eric Schmidt, Dustin Moskovitz, and James McClave are Series A/B names. The S-1 does not list them as 5% voting holders in the excerpts and secondary coverage available. Bankman-Fried’s Series B stake was sold by the FTX estate in 2024 for about $1.3 billion. The S-1 says the company bought 4,453,900 Series B shares from the U.S. government in October 2025 that had been forfeited by former holders in proceedings Anthropic was not a party to—consistent with the Caroline Ellison and Nishad Singh shares the government sold, which Business Insider reports fetched $627 million.
What this means if you are matching a cap table to the prospectus
Match lettered-round leads to the table above, then do not expect those names in the 5% column. The filing’s economic greater-than-5% outside holders are Amazon and Google, on non-voting stock, with contractual caps. The only venture name that recurs in the S-1 is Spark, and the recurrence is governance (board seat, related-person footnote, six-financing investment total), not a 5% line. Dollar stakes in the tens of billions at a $965 billion mark can still be under 2%, which is why ICONIQ, Menlo, GIC, Sequoia, and Lightspeed dominate the pre-IPO press and disappear from the individual 5% list. Early-round valuations before Series E should be treated as estimates: the company did not publish them, and secondary sources do not agree.
Recent Findings Supplement (October 2026)
Anthropic PBC (ticker ANT on Nasdaq) publicly filed its S-1 on October 26, 2026, marking the key recent development.[1][2]
This follows a confidential filing around June 2026 and provides the first detailed public look at finances, governance, and ownership ahead of an expected roadshow (~November 9) and potential listing in mid-to-late November 2026. The filing leaves price/share counts blank but supports estimates of a $1.5T–$2T IPO valuation (up from the $965B private valuation in its May/June 2026 Series H round).[3][4]
In the S-1, Spark Capital is the only pure-play venture firm individually named and detailed as a principal stockholder. Its GP Yasmin Razavi (board director since the 2023 Series C) triggers extensive disclosure (>50 mentions) due to the board seat and multiple investments totaling ~$777M across six rounds since 2023 (including a $75M check in the pivotal early round at $11.22/share and leading the $450M Series C at ~$4.5B valuation in May 2023).[5][6]
No other traditional VCs (e.g., Menlo, Lightspeed, ICONIQ) appear individually in the principal/selling stockholders table or with comparable detail. Amazon and Google each hold >5% in non-voting Class N shares (strategic, convertible notes/investments).[7][8]
Governance features a novel multi-class structure (inspired by precedents like Zuckerberg/Musk setups) that limits public shareholder influence: A Founder LLC (seven co-founders: Dario/Daniela Amodei et al.) holds one Class F share with 50.1% voting power on most matters (dilution-protected, no economic rights). A Long-Term Benefit Trust (disinterested trustees) elects a board majority via Class T. Public Class A shares (Nasdaq) are capped at 49.9% collective vote. Class E (non-founder employees) has limited rights; 5% of shares go to a Public Benefit Fund.[9][10]
Founders each beneficially own ~240M+ Class A shares (pre-IPO stakes worth ~$13.7B–$14.4B at Series H pricing of $58.90/share).[11]
Press reports (Bloomberg, PitchBook, etc., October 2026) detail larger stakes and gains for other investors based on the $965B private valuation, but these are not individually listed in the S-1 (consistent with sub-5% holdings or aggregation):[3][4]
- ICONIQ: >$6B invested (first in 2025 at $183B valuation); ~$17B stake at $965B val (potentially ~$35B at $2T IPO).
- Menlo Ventures: >$1B total (incl. $500M to lead Series D, its largest check); ~$14B position (<2% stake).
- Lightspeed Venture Partners: Participated in Series D and follow-ons; <2% stake.
- GIC: >$4.5B since 2025; ~1% stake.
- Sequoia: $3B invested (starting ~early 2026); ~1% stake (~$9.7B at current val).
- Others (e.g., Sound Ventures, Factorial, Bessemer) noted in cap table analyses but not S-1 principals.
These “press-only” investors reflect late or large follow-on checks in a capital-intensive AI environment; early/smaller checks (like Spark’s) or board seats drive S-1 visibility. Amazon/Google’s >5% strategic stakes are disclosed (non-voting Class N).[12]
Recent funding context (post-April 2026, per S-1/press): Series H (May–June 2026) raised ~$65.2B at pricing leading to the $965B valuation (77M+ Series H-1 shares to 305 investors + non-voting H-2 to 11 at ~$589/share). Earlier rounds (e.g., 2023 Series C led by Spark) are referenced but not exhaustively tabled in new sources. Total capital raised: ~$141B, with ~$112B+ cash/short-term investments as of mid-2026.[7]
Implications for competitors/entrants: The S-1 underscores how board seats and early institutional involvement (even at “high” valuations like 2023’s $4.5B–$5B) create outsized disclosure and returns in AI, while massive later-stage checks from growth/strategic players (ICONIQ, GIC, Sequoia) drive valuation without proportional S-1 naming if below thresholds. Governance innovations (founder control + trust) may set precedents for mission-driven AI/public-benefit companies seeking public capital without ceding control. Revenue trajectory ($16.3B H1 2026, up >1,300% YoY) and infrastructure costs highlight execution risks/opportunities for those building complementary AI infrastructure or enterprise tools.[13]
Summary Table of Key Investors (S-1 vs. Press, Recent Focus):
- Spark Capital: S-1 named (board via Razavi; $777M total); press highlights ~$7B stake at $965B val (93x+ on early $75M).
- ICONIQ, Menlo, Lightspeed, GIC, Sequoia: Not individually in S-1 principals; press reports large stakes/gains (e.g., ICONIQ ~$17B, Menlo ~$14B) from post-2023/2025 rounds.
- Amazon/Google: S-1 >5% (non-voting Class N); strategic notes/convertibles.
- Founders (via LLC): S-1 detailed control/ownership (~10% economic, 50.1% vote).
No comprehensive new full historical round-by-round table (Series A onward) emerged in post-April 2026 sources beyond Spark’s role and the Series H details; prior rounds are referenced anecdotally in cap table stories. Data aligns with the query’s focus on matching S-1 entries and flagging press-only investors.